Vinaya is one of the three main canonical categories of the Buddha’s teaching: vinaya (code of discipline), abhidharma (treatises on metaphysics), and sutra (discourses). Vinaya refers to the rules which guide monastic practice. Although various versions of the vinaya exist, all include in-depth commentary on the approximately 250 precepts to be kept by monks and over 300 precepts for nuns.