Three Treasures

(also: three treasures; three gems) The Three Treasures are the central symbols of the Buddhist tradition in which one “takes refuge” in becoming a Buddhist: the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha. Buddha refers to Siddhartha Gautama and other enlightened ones who have awakened to the true nature of reality. Dharma means the teachings of the Buddha. Sangha designates the community of Buddhist monks and practitioners.