Seven Principles

In 1985, the member congregations of the Unitarian Universalist Association adopted seven principles as a covenantal agreement, binding them to one another as a statement of belief. The Seven Principles that Unitarian Universalist congregations affirm and promote are: 1. The inherent worth and dignity of every person; 2. Justice, equity and compassion in human relations; 3. Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations; 4. A free and responsible search for truth and meaning; 5. The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large; 6. The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all; 7. Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part.