The Sangha is the community of monks or, more broadly, the community of Buddhists. To formally become a Buddhist, one takes refuge in the Three Treasures: the Buddha, Dharma (the Buddha’s teachings), and Sangha. In its widest sense, “sangha” refers to all those who follow the teachings of the Buddha. Often, however, the term is reserved specifically for the community of ordained monks and nuns. In its most restricted sense, it may refer to a family of students under a particular master.