Sakya school

Sakya is one of the four major schools of Tibetan Buddhism. Nyingma, Sakya, Kagyu, and Gelug. The Sakya tradition was founded by Konchog Gyalpo (1034-1102), who established a monastery in the Sakya region of south-west Tibet in 1073. The principal doctrine of this school is that of “the Path and its Fruit,” which seeks to unify the different teachings of the sutras and the tantras, through a teaching of the inseparability of samsara and nirvana.