The term “sabbat” usually refers to the eight seasonal celebrations observed by many Pagan traditions, but can also refer to any formal gathering of witches or Wiccans. The seasonal celebrations include the winter and summer solstices, the spring and fall equinoxes, and the four mid-points between the solstices and equinoxes, called cross-quarter days. Many Pagans use the Wiccan names for these holidays, which are Yule (winter solstice, around December 21), Imbolc (around February 2), Ostara (spring equinox, around March 21), Beltane (around May 1), Litha (summer solstice, around June 21), Lughnasad or Lammas (around August 1), Mabon (autumn equinox, around September 21), and Samhain (around October 31).