The Orthodox or Eastern Orthodox churches are a family of fourteen or fifteen churches that developed from the Church of the Byzantine Empire, which formally separated from the Church of Rome in the 11th century. Today they include the ancient patriarchates of, Antioch, Alexandria, and Jerusalem, the large Greek and Russian Orthodox churches and the new Orthodox Church in America.