Gelug School

The Gelug or Gelugpa School is one of four major schools of Tibetan Buddhism: Nyingma, Sakya, Kagyu, and Gelug. Dating from the fourteenth century, the Gelug was the last of the four to develop. Compared to the other schools, the Gelug order lays greater emphasis on the need to thoroughly train in the doctrines of the sutras before progressing to the practices of the tantras. The Gelug eventually developed into the largest school in Tibet and came to exert a great deal of power once the succession of Dalai Lamas were enthroned as spiritual and political rulers in the 17th century.