eight High Holidays

(also: cross-quarter days) Neo-Pagans attune themselves to the annual cycle of time through observing eight High Hoidays: the winter and summer solstices, the spring and fall equinoxes (which mark four quarters of the year) and the four mid-points (cross-quarter days) between them called Imbolc, Beltane, Lughnasad, and Samhain in the Celtic tradition. These holidays are sometimes called Sabbats.