Women’s Interfaith Initiatives After 9/11

On September 28-29, 2007, the Pluralism Project held a seminar on “Women’s Interfaith Initiatives After 9/11” at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study. Women who established selected women’s interfaith organizations formed after 9/11 were invited to join the conversation, along with faculty colleagues, and women from other religious and interfaith organizations, for two days of presentations and discussion. In addition, the group explored the models and methodologies at play, and considered the relationship of these new organizations to the women’s and interfaith movements.

Sponsored by The Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University
Convened by The Pluralism Project. The Pluralism Project is very grateful to the Radcliffe Institute for making this exploratory seminar possible, and to all of the participants who invested their time and energy towards new collaborations.

Participants [Bios]

Brief Agenda [Full Agenda .pdf]

Friday, September 28
9:00 A.M. Welcome & Introductory Comments – Dr. Diana L. Eck

9:30 A.M. Presentations of Women’s Interfaith Organizations [Transcript]

  • SARAH (Spiritual and Religious Alliance for Hope) – Sande Hart
  • Women’s Interfaith Solutions for Dialogue and Outreach in MetroDetroit (WISDOM) – Gail Katz and Trish Harris
  • Women Transcending Boundaries (WTB) – Danya Wellmon and Betsy Wiggins
  • Sacred Circles Conferences at the Washington National Cathedral – Grace Ogden
  • Interfaith Action’s Women’s Initiative – Janet Penn

3:15 P.M. Presentations of Other Organizations

  • Muslim Women’s League – Laila Al-Marayati
  • East Bay Meditation Center – Mushim Ikeda-Nash
  • Women’s Alliance for Theology, Ethics and Ritual (WATER) – Mary Hunt
  • The Interfaith Alliance – Suzie Armstrong
  • The Institute for Women’s Policy Research – Amy Caiazza

4:15 P.M. Faculty Feedback & Discussion – moderated by Dr. Diana L. Eck

Saturday, September 29
9:00 A.M. Working Groups

10:45 A.M. Working Group Reports [Transcript]

11:30 A.M. Concluding Comments & Discussion – moderated by Dr. Diana L. Eck